Licensure and Certification

State Licensure 

Most states in the country require a massage therapist to obtain a license in order to practice. Licensing requirements vary greatly from state-to-state and city-to-city. Currently, there are 45 states in the United States that require and issue massage therapist licenses.

Click on the following links to visit each state's massage therapy licensure information:

Alabama                          Maine                                  Oregon 
Arizona Maryland Pennsylvania
Arkansas Massachusetts Rhode Island
California Michigan South Carolina
Colorado Mississippi South Dakota
Connecticut Missouri Tennessee
Delaware Montana Texas
Florida Nebraska Utah
Georgia Nevada Virginia
Hawaii New Hampshire                Washington
Idaho New Jersey Washington, DC
Illinois New Mexico West Virginia 
Indiana New York Wisconsin
Iowa North Carolina
Kentucky North Dakota
Louisiana Ohio

States with No State Licensure

The following states do not have state licensure for massage therapy. For these states there may be local, city, or county requirements.  For more information, inquire at your local government office on how to obtain a license to practice massage therapy.

Alaska                                  Minnesota Vermont
Kansas Oklahoma Wyoming